Joining us from Santa Cruz… Meet Madi!

My name is Madi Volk and I am an art studio major and education minor at UC Davis! My hometown is Santa Cruz, CA and I love the beach, long hikes, and sushi.


My other passions include dancing, film photography, working out, and helping special needs children.


I’m really excited for my first summer at Coppercreek and all the fun and love it will hold!


Joining us for her second summer from Ireland… Meet Katie!

Hey Everyone!! I’m very excited to be coming back to camp this year for my second summer as one of your riding instructors! You’ll find me at the barn all summer doing all things horsey; lessons, barn rats, mini fun, vaulting and anything else! I’m from Wicklow, Ireland and I’ve just finished my fourth year of studying Biomedical Engineering at Trinity College Dublin, and am returning here next year to complete my master’s degree. I love horses, animals and all things outdoors. When I’m not in college, I’m usually around horses, I’ve been riding since I got my first pony at the age of 3! The pic below is of me and Tully, my 15.2hh Connemara pony, who I do a bit of everything with; showing, dressage, cross county and show jumping etc. I’m also on my college equestrian team, and I play field hockey for Trinity and I love skiing during the winter. I love all types of sports and I can’t wait to have another summer of outdoorsy fun at Coppercreek and see everyone (both humans and horses!) again!!

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 5.32.00 PM

Me and my boy Tully before Cross County

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 5.32.14 PM

A trail ride on the lovely Caro at camp last summer

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 5.32.21 PM

Me and my dog Freddie ☺

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 5.32.32 PM

Playing red cone green cone at camp last summer!

From odontology to summer camp… meet Emmanuel!

Hello everyone!

My name is Emmanuel, but all the people calls me “Cova” because it is my last name, I am from Puebla, Mexico and I study Odontology in BUAP. I am very excited to be part of the Coppercreek family this summer.

Screen Shot 2018-05-26 at 4.01.25 PM

I like to take pictures because I keep all the memories of the places that I visit with my brother, we both like to go out and visit new places and visit historical places within the country.

Screen Shot 2018-05-26 at 4.01.33 PM

I love spending time in nature, away from all the noise of the city, I like to lie on the grass and look at the sky in the afternoon, I think there is no better way to spend time than amirando green places that the world offers us.

Some of my favorite activities are going to swim in the afternoons, go jogging a few days a week, go out to eat with my friends after school.

I am a happy person, respectful, honest and I like to make people laugh, meet new people, share my experiences and learn new activities. When I’m bored I start to cook some desserts to invite my friends and we all spend a little time together.

Screen Shot 2018-05-26 at 4.01.41 PM

I already want to meet you in the summer and be part of a new family, share a bit of the traditions of my country. To know new places within the United States, I hope to know new traditions of the country as well as the people who are part of the Coppercreek team.

For her third year on staff… meet Sera!

Hi everyone! My name is Sera and this will be my third summer at Coppercreek! I am so excited for yet another awesome summer filled with laughter, singing silly songs, outpost nights under the stars, and so so many other amazing fun-filled activities I get to share with you!


I am really into being outdoors and exploring what nature has to offer, so I love to go on hikes whenever and wherever I can! The most recent and notable adventure I went on was to Oregon, where I went on an immense amount of beautiful, breathtaking hikes. One week was just not enough! Aside from Oregon, I regularly go hiking around the beautiful county that I live in, Sonoma County, here in California. Sonoma County and the Bay Area have so many beautiful places to hike and explore, so many that I just haven’t been able to see them all just yet! But, just being outdoors and having the amazing luck to live in such a beautiful place is enough to keep me happy.


One of the reasons I first applied for Coppercreek two years ago is because I love working with kids and am working on earning my Teaching Credential so that I can teach, both here in California and hopefully abroad. Being able to work with kids inspires me. Any opportunity I can get to work with kids, you can bet I will take it. This includes the three years I worked at an amazing after school program through CalSERVES/Americorps, where I got to teach my own classroom full of children, and learn from them as they learned from me.


I am beyond excited for camp to start, and I cannot wait to see/meet all of you!